LITTLE Oakley's walking footballers have been crowned champions.

They won the Essex Walking Football League's over-65s division at the play-off event at Chelmsford City Sports and Athletics Centre.

The runners-up were from Grays Athletic, while the other teams competing in the play-offs were Leyton Orient and Paringdon Pirates.

The Acorns team were unbeaten on the day, winning two games and drawing the other.

They scored six goals without conceding any and their scorers were Billy Tyrrell (four), Ron Cooledge and Bob Harper.

The Oakley team, including substitutes, consisted of goalkeeper Graham Tyrrell, Harper, Billy Tyrrell, Cooledge, Steve Hammond, captain Gerry Weaver, Alan Day and Neil Woodward.

This win means Oakley have retained the over-65s league trophy for another year and they have won three consecutive Essex Walking Football League titles.