COLCHESTER United will discover their fixtures for the 2020-21 League Two season next week.

The fixture schedule will be released by the EFL next Friday (August 21) at 9am.

The League Two season is set to kick off on September 12, with matches initially taking place behind closed doors.

The U's face 11 midweek match rounds throughout the coming season, which will finish on the weekend of May 8/9.

The EFL have also confirmed details on the cup draws for the Carabao Cup and EFL Trophy.

The U's will be hoping to emulate their Carabao Cup exploits of last season, which saw them reach the quarter-finals of the competition.

This season's has seen a number of significant scheduling changes with the first four rounds are scheduled to take place on consecutive weeks, kicking off in early September.

The traditional two-legged semi-finals in the competition have been scrapped and will be replaced by a single tie.

Colchester are set to play their opening-round Carabao Cup clash on Saturday, September 5.

However, due to the international window their first-round tie may be played on an alternative date.

Rounds two, three and dour will be played on consecutive midweeks dates, starting September 15 and 16.

Premier League sides will enter the competition in round two or round three, depending on whether or not they are competing in European competition.

The Carabao Cup first-round draw will take place next Tuesday (August 18) on Sky Sports News.

The first-round draw will be divided into a northern and southern section but will remain unseeded.

The EFL Trophy will officially get underway in Matchday One during the week commencing September 7.

It will culminate at Wembley Stadium for the final on Sunday March 14, 2021.

The title sponsorship with has come to an end so the competition will revert back to the EFL Trophy.

The opening three group games in the 2020/21 EFL Trophy will take place on September 8/9 (Matchday One), October 6/7 (Matchday Two) and November 10/11 (Matchday Three).

The Category One-invited clubs taking part in the 2020/21 EFL Trophy competition are Arsenal, Aston Villa, Brighton & Hove Albion, Chelsea, Fulham, Leeds United, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Norwich City, Southampton, West Bromwich Albion, West Ham United, Wolves.

The EFL Trophy Group Stage draw will take place next Tuesday (August 18) at 1.30pm on TalkSPORT 2.