KEVIN Challis and Peter Reece were victorious in Harwich and Dovercourt Golf Club's Simpson Cup.

The pair won with a nett 57.9.

Steven Sheppard and Ged Traynor were second, with nett 64.5, and Dave Bushell and Stephen Fender third, with nett 65.4.

In the Hepworth Cup, Stuart Henshall won with 44 points.

Tim Leeks was second, with 41, and Tony Challis third, with 40.

Two of Harwich's teams were in action on Sunday.

The Leslie F Wood team, captained by Phil Elwood, played in the first round at Orsett.

The morning foursomes were won by Orsett, 4-1.

In the afternoon singles, Orsett were again the winners, 7-3, making the overall score 11-4.

The Jubilee Cup team captained by Keith Morris played at home to Benton Hall.

It was the team's second match in this year’s competition.

It was a very close match, which unfortunately resulted in another defeat for the team as they were beaten 5-4.

Results: Veterans: St Clements 3½ Harwich and Dovercourt 4½, Harwich and Dovercourt 3 Frinton 5, Harwich and Dovercourt 1 Fynn Valley 7.

Basil Warner stableford: 1 A Scott 39 points, 2 M Whurr 37 (after countback), 3 M Stenton 37, 4 P Brown 36.

Elsewhere, the Easter Greensomes Barbara Crawshaw Trophy was won by Sue Keen and Chris Bradford.

The runners-up were Viv Dale and Carol Wrayton.

The nine-hole stableford competition played throughout the winter, where the winner is decided by the average of the five best scores, was won by Linda Burrows.

She finished one point ahead of Viv Dale.

Results: Medal one: 1 Katie Burrows, 2 Kate Fender; Medal two: 1 Glynis Hutchence, 2 Ann Myers; Medal three: 1 Katie Burrows, 2 Rose Wallace; Medal four: 1 Linda Burrows, 2 Viv Dale.

Qualifying stableford: 1 Sue Keen, 2 Chris Bradford, 3 Viv Dale.

A friendly match at Frinton was drawn, with victories coming from Ruth Stapleton and Kate Fender and Beryl Mathews and Gina Doyle.